Sunday, October 24, 2010

The Big Ten

Lets go ahead and answer JB's comment with another post.  If your not into football or sports this post will not interest you so much, so please skip!

Yes there are 11 schools in the big ten.  This happened several years ago when Penn State became a member of the conference.

I always thought it was interesting that there is an 11 in the middle of the big ten logo.  See it surrounding the big T of ten.

So let see if I can name them all.

Penn State, Ohio State, Indiana, Purdue, Michigan, Michigan State, Illinois, Northwestern, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa.  Yep, that's 11.

And to further confuse the issue, we will have 12 schools next year as Nebraska is slated to leave the big 12 and come to the big 10.  This will cause the conference to be divided into Eastern and Western divisions.  This is still somewhat up in the air, but has also been planned subject to changes yet foreseen.
Rather than retype this, I copied it from the big ten web site.

Park Ridge, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference office announced football division alignments beginning with the 2011 season as recommended by conference directors of athletics and reviewed and supported by the Big Ten Council of Presidents/Chancellors. Nebraska will officially begin conference competition in 2011, giving the Big Ten 12 football programs for the first time in conference history.

The winner of each Big Ten division will meet in the inaugural Big Ten Football Championship Game, to be played December 3, 2011, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. The championship game will determine the Big Ten Champion and the conference's participant in the Rose Bowl Game or Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game.

The Big Ten football division alignments will include a division featuring Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin, and a division featuring Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern. Each school will play the other five schools within its division and will also face three teams from the other division, including one cross-division matchup guaranteed on an annual basis. The guaranteed cross-division matchups are Illinois-Northwestern, Indiana-Michigan State, Ohio State-Michigan, Penn State-Nebraska, Purdue-Iowa and Wisconsin-Minnesota. Names for each Big Ten football division will be announced at a later date.

"Over the past several months, Big Ten staff and directors of athletics have met on several occasions to discuss and finalize division alignments," said Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany. "We focused on competitive equality, traditional rivalries and geography. We considered multiple models and countless permutations in an effort to achieve the most competitively balanced divisions while at the same time respecting our traditions, preserving existing rivalries, and creating opportunities for the establishment and growth of new rivalries. We have listened to the feedback from our institutions, alumni and fans, and while we understand that no final alignments could possibly satisfy all of our constituents, we believe that we have achieved a very exciting result."

With the division alignments finalized, the Big Ten also announced updated conference schedules for the 2011 and 2012 football seasons. The 2011 and 2012 intraconference schedules are attached as PDFs.
The 115th season of Big Ten football kicks off Thursday, Sept. 2, as Indiana hosts Towson, Minnesota plays at Middle Tennessee State, and Ohio State welcomes Marshall. The conference's other eight teams open action on Saturday, Sept. 4

Probably more than you wanted to know!

Retired Rod

1 comment:

  1. So let me get this straight the Big 10 will now really have 12 teams and I suppose that leaves the Big 12 with only

    Thanks for the clarification. I guess nobody said it had to make sense.


Anonymous comments had to be eliminated.... For the most part this has removed unwanted responses.. If you can't post your comments, please email me and we will make other arrangements...